Joan Sanmarti

Buy Online
Joan Sanmarti "Scandal?"
2005 - SatchmoJazz records

- Como en la luna
- Tribal Implosion
- Block (Peradedebo)
- De nuevo
- Zinc Element
- Scandal?
- Dels Equilibris?
- Margarita?

+ eight brief scandal versions
All tunes by Joan Sanmartí

Joan Sanmartí - electric guitar, 6 & 9 strings acoustic guitars
Frederic Carlquist - tenor & alto sax
Victor de Diego - tenor & soprano sax
Curro Gálvez - bass
Jesús Reina - drums

"Veteran Spanish jazz guitarist Joan Sanmarti and his quintet venture towards classic, hard-bop, swing and excursions into the free zone during this rather jaunty session. With Frederic Carlquist and Victor de Diego providing a dual-core saxophone attack, the leader’s fluent lines and solid compositional acumen intimate arching angles and elements of suspense. Sanmarti chooses his notes wisely amid a sequence of briskly articulated single note flurries and intricate progressions. On “Block (Peradedebo),” he switches to acoustic, where the band fuses a touch of American style country & western with saxophone-driven jazz choruses. In sum, Sanmarti’s clear-sighted writing and strong leadership impart the winning edge. They don’t reinvent the proverbial wheel, as the quintet’s mode of execution offers a hefty dose of disparate viewpoints, translating into an abundance of articulate musical yarns." Glen Astarita. allaboutjazz.com

Coming back

Valid XHTML 1.0 TransitionalValid CSS!Disseny web Interactiu
legal notices · Web map · use of cookies